God’s Strength; May 26, 2017


Judges 6:14 The Lord turned to him and said, “Go in the strength you have and save Israel out of Midian’s hand. Am I not sending you?”

This statement by the angel seemed totally absurd to Gideon because he didn’t recognize that he had any strength. The thing is, everything we have comes from God, so if He says we have it, we do, whether we recognize it or not. He never asks us to do anything for which He does not equip us, but we need to keep our eyes on Him for it to be fully operative. When we start depending on what we see as our own strength we are limited to the merely human, and that runs out in a hurry. When we are fully focused on God, then we become conduits for His strength, which is infinite. Sometimes God has to allow circumstances to make it clear to us that we have no strength on our own. He certainly had to do that with Paul, using some sort of physical problem in the process. (2 Corinthians 12:7-10) Jesus said very clearly, “Apart from me you can do nothing.” (John 15:5) That said, His grace is all we really need, (2 Corinthians 12:9) and we can do everything He calls us to do through Him and His power. (Philippians 4:13) Having said all of that, it’s still true that we often fail to recognize what God has already provided. I think that what is called for is expectant humility: knowing that He is the Source and He is enough. To the outside observer that can look like conceit, but it is the farthest thing from it. Rather, it is recognizing that God is bigger and greater and stronger than all of our weaknesses and failures, and He can use even us for His glory.

This, of course, applies to me, and it feels pretty timely at the moment. Right now I feel somewhat overwhelmed by all that is on the schedule for the next four days. On top of that, my digestion was acting up yesterday, and I don’t feel much physical strength. That’s all the more reason to rejoice, because God’s strength is demonstrated perfectly in my weakness. (2 Corinthians 12:9) I am to prepare, in terms of having things lined up to be used, but I am to trust Him to supply the wisdom, the skill, the strength, to do what needs to be done when and how it needs to be done. It’s all part of resting, relaxing, and rejoicing in Him, as He has told me to do. From a human perspective it is ironic that resting, relaxing, and rejoicing can be very active indeed! I need to let Him carry me through all that He calls me to do, for His pleasure and glory.

Father, thank You for this reminder and for how timely it is. I know Your truth; I just need to walk in it more fully. Help me be fully focused on each task as I do it, not being distracted by what is ahead. Thinking about it as a whole is why I feel overwhelmed! As the song says, help me indeed take one day at a time, indeed one step at a time, so that I may allow Your power to flow through me for Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

