The Result of Commitment; May 30, 2017


1 Samuel 2:2 “There is no-one holy like the Lord;
there is no-one besides you;
there is no Rock like our God.”

This Psalm is evidence of the genuineness of Hannah’s dedication of her son Samuel to God. The very difficulty of her following through with what she had promised brought her to a beautiful depth of worship that has blessed countless generations since. This particular verse has been set to music, and I have liked it very much ever since I first heard it. We are complex beings, but God knows every detail of us. (Matthew 10:30) He knows what has the potential to draw us closer to Him. I tell people frequently that God, being Love, will never allow anything in our lives that cannot be used for our good, (Romans 8:28) but whether it will have His intended result often depends on our response to whatever it is. If we respond wrongly, even things that the world would see as good can turn out very badly. Winning the lottery is a good case in point. From what I have heard, only those who are committed to using everything they have for God are genuinely blessed by such a sudden influx of money, and many are essentially destroyed by it. Hannah responded to her infertility by crying out to God, and then she responded to her conception and motherhood by giving God the credit and returning her son to Him. As a result, she became an example and a blessing to all believers since.

I’ve had a variety of experiences in my life, which could be said of anyone. My experiences haven’t been as extreme as those of some people, but whether big or small, what matters is my response. If I will keep my focus on God, then He will use everything to shape and grow me into whom He created me to be. If I focus on myself instead, then I will become a caricature of what He intends, losing the blessings He has stored up for me. I am called and commissioned to minister to others, but there is always the danger of becoming a petty tyrant, bossing others around for the sake of my own ego. That produces losers all the way around! I am to rejoice at the privilege of serving my Lord. Like Paul, my concern is that Christ be formed in each of my spiritual children. (Galatians 4:19) I am to speak the truth in love, and never in pride. I have a real risk of taking pride in my Bible knowledge. That doesn’t negate the truths of the Bible, but it hinders their effectiveness in my life and the lives of those who hear me. I am to rejoice in God’s incredible grace and mercy that He would allow such a one as I am to serve Him.

Father, thank You indeed for Your grace and mercy. Thank You for getting me through the last of the days I was dreading, and for all You did in that period. I’m sure it was more than I am right now aware of. Thank You for Your plans for today. I pray that each person with whom I interact would be touched by Your Spirit through me, so that the lies of the devil may be exposed and cast down, and people set free to draw close to You. (2 Corinthians 10:4) May we all together grow in Your grace, for Your glory. Thank You. Hallelujah!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

