Trusting God; June 8, 2017


1 Samuel 17:47 “All those gathered here will know that it is not by sword or spear that the Lord saves; for the battle is the Lord’s, and he will give all of you into our hands.”

Here we have even more explicit confirmation of what came out in yesterday’s reading: David’s confidence was based not on his own ability but on the Lord who gave him that ability. It can seem like a minor point to some people, but it makes a huge difference. This declaration, from verse 45 to here, is very explicit, and it gives all the glory to God. Our problems would look much smaller if we would only compare them to our infinite, omnipotent God! We panic only because we fail to look to God and believe that He loves us. Even when we believe that He loves us, we fail to understand love, and so get confused when our way is less than easy. We are like little children who get upset because daddy won’t let them play with his loaded gun. We confuse love with indulgence, when God is far too good a Father to do that. David was like a child unafraid to face down a bully because his father is standing right behind him, and he knows his father can beat the bully and beat the bully’s father, too! We need a better, clearer image of God. Image is an inadequate word, because this isn’t a picture or a statue, but how we really see him in our heart. We need to trust that He has a plan for us, it is a wonderful, excellent plan, and He is more than able to carry it out. If we really trust Him, that will carry us through all the rough places that He knows are necessary to grow us and shape us into who He created us to be.

I’m preaching to myself here. I know all this, and yet I still need to be reminded from time to time. The difficulty I’ve had with my ears / hearing for the past few days had me pretty upset, but medication I got yesterday seems to be very helpful. I have known intellectually for a long time that whereas it’s important to hear what people are saying, it’s far more important to hear what God is saying to me, and I don’t need physical ears for that. This experience has been a confirmation of that truth, though not an entirely pleasant one. I need to remember that good doesn’t always equal pleasant! I need to rest, relax, and rejoice in the assurance that, as the song says, “My God is so big, so strong and so mighty, there’s nothing my God cannot do.” How He does it, and when, are up to Him, and I need to be at peace with that.

Father, thank You for this reminder. Thank You also for the extremely productive day yesterday. Thank You for Your plans for today. Help me recognize them and flow with them, so that I may be fully useful to You in doing Your will on Your schedule for Your glory. Thank You. Hallelujah!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

