Anointing; June 14, 2017


1 Samuel 26:9 But David said to Abishai, “Don’t destroy him! Who can lay a hand on the Lord’s anointed and be guiltless?”

David was in a very interesting situation. Saul was king, but David too had been anointed by Samuel. David’s respect for the anointing as it applied to Saul translated into respect as it applied to him as well. David continued to be aware that it was God who had taken him from herding sheep and led him into all he was experiencing, and that awareness and gratitude were of great value to him. It was only when he got too comfortable in the blessings that had been heaped on him that he committed the drastic sins that echoed through the rest of his life. Here, though, he was sharply aware of his personal dependence on God, and he acted accordingly.

Once again David is an excellent example for me. God has anointed me for His service (though not with a literal flask of oil) and I must not take that lightly. At the same time I must respect the anointing I recognize on others. I’ve got to remember that anointing doesn’t equal perfection, as David himself showed years after this incident. I am to walk in personal humility, while at the same time realizing that God can do anything at all through me, if He so chooses. I am to pray for those around me that they may “live [lives] worthy of the calling [they] have received.” (Ephesians 4:1) They need as much help and support as I do! I am to recognize that we are all dependent on God’s grace and mercy and live accordingly, seeking His will in every situation and delighting to be used by Him for His glory.

Father, thank You for this reminder. I ask for wisdom and guidance not only as a steward of the anointing You have poured out on me, but also in relating to those around me who are likewise anointed. Anointing doesn’t automatically equal wisdom! Help me be an open channel of Your grace at all times, so that the devil’s schemes may be defeated and Your will alone be done, for Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Anointing; June 14, 2017

  1. Tom says:

    Excellent points about needing to respect and help others in ministry as you do your own. Neither is above the other. We are all on the same team. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

