Consistently Seeking God; June 15, 2017


1 Samuel 30:8 And David inquired of the Lord, “Shall I pursue this raiding party? Will I overtake them?”
“Pursue them,” he answered. “You will certainly overtake them and succeed in the rescue.”

Once again we have an example of David inquiring of the Lord before he took action. The total shock of finding the town where they had been living totally destroyed and everything and everyone gone had some of his men to the point of irrationality, but David clung to the Lord even now. That this wasn’t necessarily an easy decision is evidenced by the fact that a fourth of his men were too exhausted from what they had been doing up to this point to continue the pursuit of the raiders, (verse 10) and the numerical odds weren’t in David’s favor to begin with (verse 17). He really needed the strong encouragement the Lord gave him, as recorded in this verse. It seems probable that had David not sought the Lord at this juncture and been obedient to what He told him, he would never have become king of all Israel, but would have ended as a minor chieftain, if that. We never know ahead of time what crises we will encounter, so our heart attitudes need to be set ahead of time. David already had a firm pattern of seeking God before acting, and it served him very well indeed. This should be a lesson to us to do the same, establishing firm patterns of devotion to God, both in corporate worship, being planted in a body of believers, and in daily, consistent private time with God. Society today, with the strong encouragement of the devil, works against such a lifestyle, so it generally takes a conscious decision to keep God as the first priority in our life. However, once that decision is firmly ingrained over time, we discover peace and stability that can be had no other way, enabling us to get through any crisis.

I am deeply grateful to have been able to establish a pattern of daily morning devotions many years ago now. I doubt that I’ve missed even 10 times over the past 40 years. (It does get a little awkward when I’m going back and forth across the International Date Line, but I manage.) Some people might accuse me of being legalistic about it, but it has become the bedrock of my lifestyle, and I couldn’t be more grateful. One result is that I have trouble understanding people who insist they are Christians, but yet won’t make the effort to have daily devotions. To a degree I can understand, because I remember trying to establish such a pattern when I was in college but giving up after a few days. However, the benefits are so great that now I have trouble imagining anything else. As a pastor I can see that the majority of the issues I deal with in the congregation simply wouldn’t exist if everyone had such a lifestyle. That’s another reason for me to encourage it! However, I can’t make such decisions for others, but only for myself. I am to speak the truth in love and encourage them any way I can, asking the Holy Spirit to counter the lies of the devil and lead them to single-minded devotion to Christ, for their great blessing and His glory.

Father, thank You for this reminder, and for how it fits in perfectly with what You had already been indicating I am to speak on this Sunday. I pray that Sunday’s service would indeed enable those who don’t yet have a consistent, regular time with You to get going and establish one, so that we may “get out of the weeds” as a church and move into all that You intend for us, for Your glory. Thank You. Hallelujah!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

