Worship; June 17, 2017


2 Samuel 6:14 David, wearing a linen ephod, danced before the Lord with all his might.

There is a lot to learn from the story of David bringing the Ark of God into Jerusalem, but the particular thing that speaks to me right now is that David, though king, was totally uninhibited in the worship he offered to God. That this was not “politically correct” is evident from verses 20-23, when he is put down for his behavior by one of his wives. What this shows is that David was not overly impressed with himself, but rather knew that God was everything. Sadly, that attitude can be in short supply, even in churches. The pastor is to be the Chief Worshiper, even before being teacher or anything else. Too often I have seen conferences or even local church services where the speaker/pastor doesn’t even come into the room until the “song service” is over. With Americans speaking at conferences in Japan, the excuse is that they don’t speak Japanese and so they can’t participate, but generally at least half of the songs are translated from English to begin with, so that doesn’t hold water. Lee Grady has written about times of deep worship when he was in Africa and spoke none of the local language at all. Worship isn’t a matter of following a script, it is a heart attitude. If a person isn’t a worshiper, they have no business being anything else in church leadership. Among other good things worship does for us, it helps us remember who God is, and who and what we are as a result.

Since I am a pastor, this is of great importance for me. Any time I feel seduced by the attention and respect I get from my position, I need to worship! Likewise, any time I feel weak and helpless, unable to do what is asked of me, I need to worship. This morning I am much more toward the latter end of that scale than the first, for reasons that are frankly unknown to me. I feel really drained, and at the same time put-upon. I need to worship! I am not to be stinting of anything that I have, just as David was unstinting in dancing before the Lord with all his strength, but at the same time remember that everything I have is from God in the first place, and He will supply everything I need for whatever He asks of me – and He will give me wisdom to discern when people demand things of me that are not from Him. If I will worship, His Spirit will carry me along until I am worshiping before Him face to face, for all eternity.

Father, thank You for this reminder, and for the physical/emotional situation that prompted it. Help me indeed worship You in spirit and in truth, not just tomorrow in the church service but right now, throughout today and each day, so that every trick of the enemy may be defeated and all of Your plans fulfilled, for Your glory. Thank You. Hallelujah!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

