Letting God be God; June 24, 2017


2 Samuel 22:31 As for God, his way is perfect;
the word of the Lord is flawless.
He is a shield
for all who take refuge in him.

It would seem that it would go without saying that God’s way is perfect, but we need reminders precisely because our way is not perfect. We look at God through human eyes and think about Him with human thoughts, and all too often that leads to distortions. Any time things don’t line up with how we think they should be we start rationalizing them in our minds, either accusing God of being unfair or making excuses for Him, as if He needed our permission to be as He is. How foolish! As Paul pointed out, right now we see God like a dim reflection in an imperfect mirror (mirrors were polished metal at the time). (1 Corinthians 13:12) An important element of faith is accepting that we can’t understand God on our own, but have to receive what He reveals to us of Himself. We would like a magical sugar-daddy who grants our every whim, and we pull verses from the Bible to bolster that image of God, ignoring all the verses that talk about His holiness and His loving discipline of His children. One thing He said through Isaiah is very important. “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord. “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” (Isaiah 55:8-9) We quote that, but then act like we don’t believe it! If something doesn’t fit our preconceptions we dismiss it, thinking it can’t be God. Some would take this line of thinking to the point of saying that we can know nothing, but God has indeed revealed Himself through His Word (which this verse proclaims as pure), and He does reveal Himself to individual hearts. The important thing to remember is that we are never better than little children, and we need to trust Daddy.

I will probably always remember the point at which it finally got through to me, deep down, that God’s smart and I’m not. That wasn’t so many years ago! I’d always conceded that God was smarter than I was, but emotionally I put myself on some sort of finite scale with Him. How foolish! We have the word, omniscient, but we don’t grasp what it really means because we are so far from omniscient. Our verse for the year last year was Proverbs 3:5-6. “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.” I still have a tendency to lean on my own understanding! I am to seek to know Him, but not insist on knowing everything else. We don’t like to not know. Certainly I don’t. That kind of pride just gets in the way of knowing what we really need to know, which is that God made us and loves us as we are and He is growing and shaping us into what we need to be, for His glory.

Father, thank You for this reminder. I need it! You are obviously doing a great deal in and around us right now. I get tied in knots wanting it all to go the way I’ve figured out in my mind, and it’s exhausting. Help me indeed rest, relax, and rejoice in You, just as You told me to, so that I won’t let the devil steal any of my peace, joy, and fruitfulness but will flow with Your Spirit on Your schedule for Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

