God’s Promises; July 1, 2017


1 Kings 6:11-12 The word of the Lord came to Solomon: “As for this temple you are building, if you follow my decrees, carry out my regulations and keep all my commands and obey them, I will fulfill through you the promise I gave to David your father.”

The thing that strikes me right now about this was that God’s promises to David were dependent on Solomon’s follow-through. To some that might seem unfair, but it’s the way things work. We don’t see the end from the beginning the way God does, so our perception of things is often distorted. God was pleased with the temple – really, more the heart attitudes that were behind the construction than the building itself – but He also knew how later generations would desecrate it, and how the Babylonians would tear it down. He was trying to make it clear to Solomon that obedience wasn’t an option, but Solomon acted like he forgot it in his later years. Actually, I think it was probably more a matter of feeling that as king, he was above such rules and regulations. Sadly, we see such an attitude in politicians all the time. Even if they seem to get away with it in this life, they still have to stand before God in the end. Solomon may have felt that building such a magnificent temple gave him a special in with God, but God isn’t impressed with things, any more than he needs a roof over His head to keep Him dry. We need to remember what Solomon forgot, that God looks on the heart, and He is pleased with humility. (Isaiah 66:2)

I honestly don’t know what, if any, promises God made to my parents that await their fulfillment in me. I have received some promises myself that I have a feeling won’t be fulfilled until my death or after. In any case, the task for me is faithful obedience, leaving timing up to God. Part of the pride I operated in for too much of my life was feeling that any child of my parents was automatically blessed, since they were such upstanding servants of God. The message that brought me to repentance as an adult was that no one gets into heaven hanging onto anyone else’ belt. It was like God tapped me on the shoulder, and when I turned around He had a mirror for me to see the state of my heart. I literally fell to my knees and wept, “My Lord and my God.” I will forever be grateful for His grace in doing that. The goal of my life now is to hear Him say to me, “Well done, good and faithful servant.” (Matthew 25:21) Nothing that could happen to me on this earth could begin to dim the glory of that moment. (2 Corinthians 4:17)

Father, thank You for this reminder. Thank You that all the trees on the neighboring property are down safely, just as we prayed. I ask that the work on digging up the stumps, and everything to follow, likewise go smoothly. I continue to ask that we be sold the three plots we have asked for, and that everything about building and operating the elder-care facility would go as You intend. Thank You for the sunburn I got yesterday, to put a point on the “light and momentary troubles” Paul mentioned. May I rest, relax, and rejoice in You throughout today, just as You have told me, for Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

