God’s Control; August 6, 2017


2 Kings 23:25 Neither before nor after Josiah was there a king like him who turned to the Lord as he did—with all his heart and with all his soul and with all his strength, in accordance with all the Law of Moses.

Reformation is hard work. David had his troubles, but if anything he suffered from success, because he grew spiritually lax and fell badly on a personal level that echoed down through the generations. Josiah, on the other hand, came to the throne of a kingdom that was amazingly corrupt, and he dedicated himself fully to cleaning it up. The Church in America today is more in need of Josiahs than Davids. Josiah’s one failure was in passing his faith and commitment on to his children, and that is sad indeed. It is interesting to realize that Josiah’s death in battle was part of God’s reward to him for his dedication. We don’t think of death as a reward, but Josiah was spared all the mess that came after that, and he doubtless received a welcome with the saints. Our perspective on everything, including ourselves, is limited and distorted. That’s why God’s ways and thoughts are so much higher than ours. (Isaiah 55:9) The only logical response is to yield everything to Him and walk in humble, grateful obedience, rejoicing that He is God and He is love.

Like everyone else, I am faced with a multitude of complex situations, only some of which I can impact directly. Refusing to be anxious is certainly Biblical, but it’s also certainly not easy. As I tell others, I need to choose faith and choose obedience, because by doing so I will choose peace, joy, and fulfillment. My days are in God’s hands, and that’s a very good thing. I am to apply myself fully to every task He sets before me, not running from anything but not chasing after other things either. We are in the beginning stages of a huge project (from my viewpoint) that hopefully will last long after I’m gone. At the same time, I am to continue planting and watering God’s Word, trusting Him for the harvest in His time. I am not to be focused on myself and what I do, but on God and what He does, keeping myself available as His instrument for however He might choose to use me.

Father, thank You for being God. Thank You that the typhoon, that was supposed to bring us gale force winds by this afternoon, seems to have missed us completely. I pray that the wind of Your Spirit would blow through each church in the city, blowing away the junk and rearranging things as You know they need to be, so that we may be available and useful to You, for Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

