Listening to God; August 27, 2017


2 Chronicles 33:10 The Lord spoke to Manasseh and his people, but they paid no attention.

This is a very sad statement that could be repeated many times about many different people. The idea that the Creator would indeed care about and speak to His creation seems absurd to many. Even such minds as Einstein, while seeing that the complexity of the universe demanded a Creator, couldn’t bring themselves to accept a genuinely personal God. The thing is, so long as we think He’s impersonal we think we can get by with ignoring Him. If He genuinely cares, as the Bible insists He does, then we are personally accountable to Him, and many people don’t like that. However, if we refuse accountability, then we are also refusing salvation: you can’t have it both ways. Either God doesn’t care, or we are responsible to listen and obey. Just as it was with King Manasseh, God in His mercy will allow circumstances that cause us to recognize our dependence on Him and cry out to Him, but how we respond is ultimately up to us.

God has indeed spoken to me many times and in many ways, but I haven’t always listened. As the Bible says, “In the past God spoke to our forefathers through the prophets at many times and in various ways, but in these last days he has spoken to us by his Son, whom he appointed heir of all things, and through whom he made the universe.” (Hebrews 1:1-2) He has spoken to me through various individuals, through reading the Bible, and even directly. My response has sometimes been good, but I feel it has at best been incomplete. I find myself thinking about what Jesus said: “So you also, when you have done everything you were told to do, should say, ‘We are unworthy servants; we have only done our duty.’” (Luke 17:10) I can’t even say I’ve done everything I was told to do! I desire to listen accurately to God, but all sorts of things seem to get in the way. I need to remember that God is greater than any or all of those obstacles, and rest in the assurance that He will guide me. Right now I find myself second-guessing my own decisions, and the devil is attacking my mind with doubt. I need to remember that God is greater than my weaknesses, and He can and will use even my mistakes for blessing and for His glory. (Romans 8:28) His Spirit in me is greater than the devil! (1 John 4:4)

Father, thank You for this reminder. Resting, relaxing, and rejoicing in You can be difficult at times! Help me let go and trust You fully, with the little things and the big things, so that I may be fully obedient, for Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Listening to God; August 27, 2017

  1. Scott says:

    What is the secret to continued blogging for 6 years?
    I love this post by the way. I really need to pay attention better.

    • jgarrott says:

      My secret is very simple: my blog is nothing more than a slightly edited version of my daily devotional writing. I use the SOAP system, as taught by Wayne Cordeiro of Hawaii. That stands for Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer. I create a Scripture list each month for this congregation, and as I read that day’s passage, I see what part speaks to me the most, and copy that as the Scripture. (You could use any Bible-reading plan.) I then write what I feel that portion is saying, which is my Observation. I then write how I feel the Lord wants me to make use of that in my life, which is the Application. I end up with writing my Prayer in response to what I feel the Lord has said to me.

Leave a Reply

