God’s Humility; October 6, 2017


Psalm 18:35 You give me your shield of victory,
and your right hand sustains me;
you stoop down to make me great.

This verse first hit me between the eyes the first time I read through the Bible in the NIV translation, back in 1979, I think it was. This whole passage is a beautiful litany of David’s experience of God’s protection and provision, but this verse takes the cake for me. The Japanese translates it as, “Your humility has made me big.” The idea of God being humble is mind-blowing for me. However, logical analysis says that it takes great humility for the almighty Creator to deal with such insignificant elements of His creation as we are. A missionary friend recently sent me a link to a video presentation on the Hubble telescope, and how it has enabled us to understand far more of the vastness of the universe that we ever could have imagined before. All of that, God spoke into being, and yet He cares about us. Absolutely amazing! We have no greatness apart from the value that God assigns to us, but what value that is. Exactly how valuable is shown through the incarnation and cross of Jesus Christ. That was the ultimate humility, the ultimate “stooping down.” Paul expressed that beautifully to the Philippians. “Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus: Who, being in very nature God, did not consider equality with God something to be grasped, but made himself nothing, taking the very nature of a servant, being made in human likeness. And being found in appearance as a man, he humbled himself and became obedient to death—even death on a cross!” (Philippians 2:5-8) That is the humility of God, that calls forth our total gratitude, obedience, and devotion.

The danger for me is in being so familiar with this truth that it becomes old hat to me. I must not let that happen. I need to be filled each day with the wonder of God’s incredible grace toward me. “You stoop down to make me great. Wow!” I have dedicated my life to telling others about God’s gracious humility, but I can’t make them believe it by my powers of logic and persuasion. Rather, I am to share the Good News in all love and humility myself, in imitation of God’s love and humility, so that the Holy Spirit may take my words and actions to open the eyes and hearts of those to whom I minister. If I will do that, people will be saved, the devil will be defeated, and God will be glorified.

Father, the vastness of it all threatens to overwhelm me at times. Thank You that You are bigger than everything, and yet you care about me. Help me indeed rest, relax, and rejoice in that assurance, just as You have told me to do, so that all of Your purposes for me may be fulfilled, on Your schedule and for Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

