Inner Peace; October 14, 2017


Psalm 29:11 The Lord gives strength to his people;
the Lord blesses his people with peace.

There is a very small difference in nuance between the English and the Japanese translations of this verse. Actually, it is just a shift between two meanings of the word, “with.” The normal understanding of the English as it is would be that peace is the blessing God gives His people, but the Japanese comes across more like peace is something God uses in the process of blessing His people. Also, Japanese distinguishes between peace of circumstances, such as in the absence of war, and inner peace. Here, the Japanese translators chose to use the term for inner peace. One of the miracles of faith is that it is possible to have inner peace even in the middle of war. Frankly, war and the possibility of war are in abundant supply right now, so the question of inner peace is acute. Jesus told us not to let war rob us of inner peace. (Mark 13:7) That isn’t a passage you hear preached on very often! The absence of war is certainly desirable, but every believer is in spiritual warfare whether they realize it or not. Ephesians 6 is perhaps the most famous passage talking about spiritual warfare, but there are many others as well. The point in it all is to remember what Isaiah said: “You will keep in perfect peace him whose mind is steadfast, because he trusts in you.” (Isaiah 26:3) Whatever is going on around us, if we are rooted and grounded in Christ, we can have peace.

Recent events have certainly been training in this, on many levels. We have had health issues, including injury, packed schedules, and even an anonymous “poison pen” letter. That last was a first for me, and I’m interested in and grateful for my Spirit-enabled response. It came across to me that if someone was accusing me of spiritual malfeasance in that way, I must be doing things right! I’m not sure I would have responded that way in the past, but I lost no inner peace over it when it did happen. We continue to have a lot on our schedules for the foreseeable future, and the question of inner peace can be acute at times. I need to keep my focus on my Lord so that I will be able to help those around me do likewise. Recently I’ve been especially gifted with faith, so I need to share that, and the peace it brings, with those who are struggling in that area. God is doing marvelous things, and I’m not to let the devil steal any of it.

Father, thank You for this reminder. Thank You for this time with You, even though we slept rather later than expected. Thank You that our schedules are indeed in Your hands. That’s an area I particularly need to yield to You so as to walk in Your peace. May I be an open channel of Your peace, along with faith, hope, and love, to all I encounter, for Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

