Growing Faith; October 15, 2017


Psalm 30:4-5 Sing to the Lord, you saints of his;
praise his holy name.
For his anger lasts only a moment,
but his favor lasts a lifetime;
weeping may remain for a night,
but rejoicing comes in the morning.

The last part of verse 5 is extremely famous, but the average person doesn’t even know it’s from the Bible, much less where to find it. From a strictly physiological/psychological standpoint, it is indeed easier to be optimistic when rested, and morning hormone levels help a lot in that area as well. David didn’t know about hormones, but he did know about the faithfulness of God. One of the reasons his Psalms are so loved is his complete openness about his emotions. When he was down, he didn’t hesitate to say so, and when he was up, the whole world heard about it! I have liked a musical arrangement of the King James Version of the last two verses of this Psalm ever since I learned it many years ago. Those two verses express the “joy in the morning” he is talking about here. That said, mature faith finds joy and peace in the assurance that morning is coming, even when everything is black at the moment. That is one of the most powerful testimonies possible. “How can you have peace and even joy with all that is happening? Tell me!” I think any child of God would be thrilled to be asked that.

I know from personal experience that such a level of faith isn’t arrived at overnight. God keeps working on our faith for as long as He keeps us on this earth, and sometimes that work can be painful. Faith is indeed a gift, (Ephesians 2:8-9) but it’s one we have to choose to receive and then to exercise and apply. I’m reminded of the humorous expression of how we sometimes feel: “Lord, give me patience, and give it to me NOW!” I’ve learned the same thing applies to faith. I have to apply the faith I already have if I want that faith to grow. Since faith is the victory that overcomes the world, (1 John 5:4) I certainly want my faith to grow! As a pastor, I also want the faith of each believer to grow. The Lord has told me I’m to be the “faith engine” for the church in relation to the project He’s given us, but I’ve got to listen and obey carefully as to how to do that. Several people I’ve talked to about our project have been very encouraged, but they haven’t been members of this church! I have another opportunity to instill faith through the message this morning. I am not to browbeat, certainly, and I am not to indulge in wishful thinking, but I am to speak the truth of God in love so that people may be set free from the various traps that have hindered their faith. I can’t do that on my own, but God is more than able to use me to do it, and I’m to expect that and rejoice!

Father, thank You for this encouraging Word. We don’t expect many chairs to be filled this morning, but others will hear by CD and Internet. I pray that Your Word through me may indeed accomplish everything for which You send it, (Isaiah 55:10-11) for the salvation of many and for Your glory. Thank You. Hallelujah!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

