Aging; October 21, 2017


Psalm 37:25 I was young and now I am old,
yet I have never seen the righteous forsaken
or their children begging bread.

I have been aware of this verse for a long time, but it didn’t hit me so much when I was young! Actually, there is little point in getting old if you don’t learn about God and His ways in the process. David lived a very full life, but even though 1 Chronicles 29:28 says, “He died at a good old age, having enjoyed long life,” he probably wasn’t much past 70, since he reigned as king 40 years. The thing is, age is relative. When I was a child I never considered my parents old, even though I had friends at school with grandparents about my parents’ age. However, we have a church member who is just 11 years older than I am, and she thinks of herself as OLD. That said, she is still a baby in her faith, since she was past 70 when she was baptized. Conversely, I was baptized over 60 years ago! The whole point of our being born and living on this earth is to learn to love and obey God as independent human beings, freely choosing to relate to God as our Father. If we achieve that, we have lived a full life, regardless of how many years it does or doesn’t take. If we fail to achieve that, then our life is empty and essentially meaningless, regardless of how long it might be or how much stuff we might have.

It is psychological reality that we don’t perceive ourselves aging as much as others might from observing us. That’s why it’s often a shock to go to class reunions and see how much our classmates have aged! I’ve already outlived my father by five years, and I’m about to hit King David’s record as well, but most of the time I don’t think about my age at all. However, yesterday I was sitting on the floor repairing some audio equipment, and this morning my back is reminding me that I’m not as young as I once was! We are progressing with plans to build an elder-care facility, but objective analysis says it won’t be that many years before I’ll need to be a resident, rather than an administrator. However long, and in whatever condition, the Lord keeps me on this earth, I am to keep my trust and my hope in Him, learning more of Him and sharing Him with others, so that as many people as possible may indeed fulfill the purpose for which they were born on this earth, for God’s glory.

Father, thank You for reminders that my “tent” is temporary. It’s not good for anyone for me to act like I’m going to be here forever. Help me recognize and fulfill Your purpose for each day You keep me here, as an open channel of Your grace and blessing to Cathy, to my children and this church, and to all with whom You put me into contact, for Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Aging; October 21, 2017

  1. Mother Hen says:

    So very timely.. Thank you!

  2. Scott says:

    There is a natural wisdom about the elderly. I remember attending a man in a nursing home who didn’t seem to wise to me but I read his journal and he was appreciating nature and having another day to enjoy it. It takes a wise person to appreciate wisdom. Thank Jesus that young and old alike can be wise through His wisdom.

Leave a Reply

